8DPO: IComLeavWe!

Since I started dealing with infertility, I’ve found so many amazing women through the blogosphere. Their stories have touched my life in ways I never thought possible, and every day, I find a new blog to pore over, a new woman to hope for, a new story that gives ME hope.

So this month, I signed up for IComLeaveWe! It’s a first for me, but I’m pretty excited about finding some new blogs to read and some new women to connect with.

For those of you who are here because you found my blog through the IComLeaveWe link, welcome! I’m Amanda, I’m 29, and I have a beautiful little girl who will be 3 in May. My husband and I have been trying to conceive #2 since June of 2009. I’ve gotten pregnant 4 times since then, but each pregnancy ended in early miscarriage. After the second, I found out my progesterone is low, so I take Prometrium after ovulation. After I had the fourth, I was ready to quit, but my OB convinced me not to. After lots of blood tests, I was diagnosed with protein C deficiency. My OB and my hematologist think that my blood isn’t circulating well enough to allow the implanted egg to stay implanted and develop, so this cycle, I started on Lovenox injections on CD12. I’m currently 8DPO, waiting to see if I’m pregnant this time.

I’m pretty terrified, but we really want another baby in our family, so we’re doing what it takes.

Anyway, I love comments, and I love commenting back, so I can’t wait to hear from you!

20 thoughts on “8DPO: IComLeavWe!

  1. Ah Lovenox! My bestie is on Lovenox as well (she has Factor IV not Protein C)…I sure do hope it works for you! Fingers, toes, arms, legs, etc…crossed!

    ICLW #29

    • Thank you! The Lovenox isn’t as bad as I thought it would be (although I got one hell of a nasty bruise yesterday), but I do get freaked out at the thought of injecting into a hard pregnant belly. Yikes!

  2. Not ICLW related:), but thank you for your comment on my blog. Do you know what your Protein C level was? Mine was barely deficient. Getting pregnant is hard for me, too, so trying the lovenox is only hypothetical at this point, but I’m excited to have something, anything else to try.

    I have great hopes for you! I’ll be following along.

  3. I can’t begin to express my level of amazement at your bravery and tenacity. In December I experienced my first loss and I can’t imagine having to endure another one much less 3 more more.

    That said, it’s great that the doctor’s figured out you had something they could treat. Good luck on this cycle!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. It has been a long road, but I’m hoping this one will be the one that works out for us.

      So sorry to hear of your loss as well. No woman should have to experience it. It’s just not fair.

  4. Wishing you the best of luck. Although your ultimate diagnosis is different, it sounds like our treatment for our secondary infertility is quite similar. I too had a luteal phase disorder that was treated with progesterone started 3 dpo and, I has a mild clotting disorder that was treated with lovenox starting at 6 weeks pregnancy. My result is a wonderful 4 year old boy. I hope you are as blessed as I was.

    ~ICLW #31

  5. We have a three year old, too (4 in Sept), and I’ve had three miscarriages since then. Just recently diagnosed IF by my OB, but I think there’s more to it than that … because they can’t explain it (besides telling me I’m “too old” at the ripe old age of 35). I can completely sympathize! I’m so sorry for your losses, and I hope that things work out!

    ICLW#52

    • I’m so sorry to hear of your losses. It truly breaks my heart every time someone else stops by my blog to tell me that they’ve had multiple losses. Isn’t one enough to have to deal with? Not fair.

      I can’t believe they told you that you are “too old!” Ridiculous! Sending you lots of positive vibes — too old my ass!

Leave a Reply

