Milestone #2: Heartbeat

I feel like I need to repost my heartbeat post, because at the time I was SO excited and then still SO scared and I didn’t give it proper attention.

When I went in for my ultrasound, I was literally shaking. I’m talking, my hands were quivering and my teeth were chattering. Tim kept asking if I was cold, but all I could tell him was no, just nervous. The tech (who is AMAZING and the same one who did all my ultrasounds when I was pregnant with Maddie) asked me how I was doing, and when I told her I was very scared, she put her hand on my shoulder and told me to try to relax. She said my numbers looked GREAT and she was sure we’d see a heartbeat. 

First, she tried on my belly. She said it was possible we wouldn’t see/hear anything because it was so early, but she always like to try on the belly first. She put the little thingy on my belly and I closed my eyes and squeezed Tim’s hand. Took a deep breath, opened my eyes, and there it was. Something. Not an empty black hole, but something. I could see a faint flashing, and I looked at the tech, hopeful that I was seeing what I thought I was seeing. She smiled and nodded, then turned on the microphone so we could hear. And there it was — a heartbeat. She let me go pee and then I came back and did it “the other way”, as she called it. Gotta love being violated by a vag-cam! Ha! But it was SO much better. I could see the little bean and make out the clear flashing of that little heart. The fact that we could hear it, too, was very reassuring, and the tech seemed really pleased at how everything looked.

She printed two pictures for us and we left in silence, both unsure of what we’d just seen. Could this really be it? Did we really just see that most beautiful sight?

I feel good today. More confident. Happier.

Keep growing, little Poppy. Mommy loves you!

(7w1d. And my pants are tight!)

2 thoughts on “Milestone #2: Heartbeat

  1. i canNOT believe that you’re 7 weeks already. where the heck did the time fly? i’m soo happy for you that each appt/us has been good news and that you’re feeling great!! *yaay* for proper treatment :o)

Leave a Reply

