10w6d

Thanks to Nicole, I came up with a new name for the blog. It seems much happier now, and not so scary.  What do you think?

In non-pregnancy-related news, I hate my job. This is nothing new, really, it’s just that some days I hate it a lot more than others. Today is one of those days.  Most days, I can deal with it, but this week, my co-worker is out (unexpectedly) and I’m doing both her job and my job, and my level of hatred for it has risen about 100% since Monday morning. I’m bored! I’m smarter than this. I have a lot more to offer than this.

Thing is, the job pays pretty well, and I work for a very successful company. In other words, I don’t have any fear of losing my job anytime in the near (or far) future. We still get two bonuses a year, and last year was our 4th best year in company history. Needless to say, I don’t plan on looking outside of the company for a new job anytime soon.

The work I do allows me to come in contact with many different departments/divisions throughout the company. This has given me a lot of insight into what different parts of the company are like. I can easily name off all the departments I would never work for (and there’s a lot of them.)

The one area I’d like to work, though, is payroll. My desk is right next to their department, and I’m close with a lot of the people who work over there.  A few of them know how unhappy I am in my position, and they’ve talked about getting me over into payroll at some point. Someone is retiring in July, and there will be some shifting. The supervisor of the position that will be opening up already knows that I’m interested, and she’s commented that I’d be a great fit for their department.

Well, now another woman might be leaving the department very soon. She has an interview with another company on Thursday, and it’s looking pretty good for her.

I WANT HER JOB.

But I’m pregnant. Do I have any sort of shot? The supervisor that likes me is also the supervisor for this position. I’m trying not to get too hopeful, because she may not even get this other job, but what if she does? Do I dare even apply?

Leave a Reply

