Don’t get too comfortable.

When I woke up this morning, I had a nagging ache in my lower abdomen. It was enough to make me grimace and roll over to try to get comfortable and get rid of the pain. It continued throughout the morning. At lunch, I decided to go for a walk to see if getting some excercise would help. No such luck. After the walk, my lower back started to hurt. I quick trip to the bathroom, and when I wiped, there was stuff on the TP. Brownish/dark reddish stuff. Not a lot by any means, but enough to make me notice it and freak out.

I immediately called my OBs office and left a message on the nurse line. About half an hour later, I got a call back saying my OB wanted me in at 3 for an ultrasound.

When we got there, we were informed that she was running 45 minutes late. Joy! When we finally got back to the room, she asked me a ton of questions, and when I answered no to most of them, she laughed and said, “Can you just make something up so I feel better about the spotting?” Ha! I love her. Anyway, she used the portable u/s machine and right away said, “Baby is moving like crazy!” Then we heard the heartbeat, and we both breathed a huge sigh of relief. That’s when she told me that the reason she was running behind was that she had to do an unexpected D&C on one of her “special patients”, as she referred to her, “like you,” she said. She said, “All I kept thinking was, if I go in and Amanda is miscarrying, I don’t know what I will do. It’s just not fair that it has to happen to anyone.” I almost cried. I don’t even know the other patient and I just felt so awful for her.

Heart rate was 149, which is MUCH lower than last time, when it was in the 170s. I immediately said to Tim, “Ohhh, it’s a boy!” My OB laughed, and I said, “Hey, Maddie’s was always in the 160s, and this one’s was in the 170s last time. You never know!” Then she tried to get a butt shot, but baby was not having it. Wasn’t ready to show the goods yet, I guess!

Anyway, I’m ordered to rest, rest, rest, and if I have any major bleeding, to call immediately. She said the fact that the spotting was very minimal, and brown, is a good sign. It could have been a ruptured blood vessel, which could cause some pain and discomfort, or the placenta may have torn away from the uterine wall slightly, which is fine as long as I don’t have any major bleeding. Tim’s out working the yard, Maddie is at my in-laws, and I’m enjoying the peace and quiet.

One thought on “Don’t get too comfortable.

  1. SO glad that everything was OK. I can’t imagine how scary that was! Take it easy and relax! I’ll be thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

