Details

Sorry for the lack of details in my previous post. I only had a minute and didn’t want to leave you guys hanging.

I’ll admit, I was nervous when I went down to my meeting with Cate, the HR recruiter. It could have gone one of two ways, obviously. She was bringing me down there to offer me the position, or she was bringing me down there to thank me for my application, but tell me they’d gone with another candidate.

When I got there, we chatted for a bit about our kids. She is SO sweet and easy to get along with, so it was easy to just sit there and talk with her. Then she said, “Well, I have good news! We want to offer you the position.” Ahhh! Relief! I accepted immediately, of course.

It will be a lateral move, which is totally fine with me. Sometimes lateral moves are the best ones to make, and I know this position is going to open up a lot of opportunities for me within the company. She told me I was guaranteed an increase in January, which is great. I’ll be on maternity leave then, but still.

Which brings us to maternity leave. Ha! I didn’t bring up the fact that I’m pregnant yet. Part of me believes that they already know, and then the other part of me thinks ok, well maybe they don’t. I’m guessing I’ll be speaking with my new supervisor within the next fews days, and I plan to tell him then. I just don’t really know how to approach it. I know I want to lay out all my appointments for him and let him know that I don’t plan on missing any other time unless completely, medically necessary. I had planned on taking a 12-week leave, but I’m going to cut it to 8 because I think that’s best for me in the long run with this position.

So what do you guys think? How should I bring it up?

2 thoughts on “Details

  1. Hummm. Kind of a tough one. I would think they already know unless they really aren’t paying attention or you hid it well that day. The last pic of you it looked pretty obvious. I don’t think I would make it the first point of conversation.

    So that is lame advice but I need to think on it.

Leave a Reply

