Plugging along

Thank you all for your comments on my last post. It’s so nice to know that I have support coming from somewhere, from people who really do understand what I’m going through.

I’m still not sleeping (more on my discussion with the OB on that in a bit) and so I’ve been pretty on edge. Saturday I got out of bed and I was so, so tired that I felt like a zombie. I decided I needed a “me” day, so I called my stylist and told her I was coming in for a cut and color. Luckily, she had an opening, so I headed out there and went super blonde and got a really cute cut. (Side note: my stylist is moving to California in three short weeks and I AM SO SAD.) It’s amazing what a cut and color can do for your mood! After that, I shopped around the strip mall for about an hour, just enjoying some time alone. I need to do this more often — it really was uplifiting.

Today I had my regular prenatal appointment. I saw a different OB than I usually see, and I actually really liked her. he asked how I was feeling, and I told her, “Good, except I don’t sleep.” She said, “Why don’t you sleep?” I just kind of shrugged and said I didn’t know. I told her I wasn’t overly uncomfortable or anything, I just couldn’t stay asleep. I probably sleep 3 – 4 hours a night, if that. She didn’t like that, so she asked, “Are you hungry?” No. “Have you tried taking anything?” Tylenol PM, but it doesn’t work anymore. “Seriously? It’s not working?” Nope. She suggested Unisom, then said I should try eating a protein snack before bed. She wants me to try eating zero carbs after 6:30, since carbs give you energy and that could be part of why I’m not sleeping.  So, we’ll try that, and hopefully it’ll work.

Other things: my belly is measuring 24…inches? centimeters? I don’t know what they measure it by, but she said it’s perfect. She felt baby and said, “Oh, he’s already head down.” So that would explain the crotch pain. Ha! His heart rate was 155, to which she said, “Oh, he’s excited today!”

Starting with my next appointment, where I will be 29 weeks, I have my glucose screening and will also start having ultrasounds and NSTs.  I’ll go at 29 and 31 weeks, then at 32 weeks I start going weekly. Each appointment will be ultrasound, NST, and OB. I was stressing about this, because I did not want to miss so much work. Luckily, they’re working me in at the very end of the day, so I’ll typically only have to leave work maybe half an hour early once a week. It seems like SO many appointments, and yeah, it is, but better safe than sorry.

One thought on “Plugging along

  1. I hope you are able to get more sleep soon. I guess your belly should measure the same amount of weeks pregnant that you are. So considering you are 24 weeks, that is why she said you are measuring perfect! Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

