Great.

For the past couple weeks, I’ve been noticing a lot of contractions. One night, I had 10 in an hour and freaked out enough to ALMOST call the doctor, but then they stopped. I have them on and off all day. I had my NSP/BPP/appointment today, and before the nurse hooked me up to the monitor, she asked if I’d been having any contractions. I told her yes, and that they hurt. She said, “Well that’s no good…we don’t want that happening yet.” She hooked me up, and Miles did great. Nice and active, heart rate was perfect. But I had 4 contractions in 10 minutes. I could feel them and see them on the monitor. The nurse came in to check on me and said, “Ohhhh. You’re having contractions.” Yep. “Well, I’m going to leave you on for a bit longer and then show this to Dr. A.” Great. When she came back 10 minutes later, I’d had 3 more contractions. She said the was going to show the doctor, and what she guessed was that we’d do three things. First, give me a shot of terbutaline to hopefully slow the contractions down. Second, do some sort of cervial culture to determine if my body was getting ready for labor. Third, check my cervix for any softening/dilation.

She came back about five minutes later, shot in hand. Fuck. Gave me the shot, and warned me that it would likely make me pretty jittery. She was not kidding.  My hands were shaking. I felt like I could have run a marathon in about twenty minutes. We went in for the ultrasound, and everything was fine. He looks great, chubby cheeks and all.  Then it was back on the monitor. Good news is, the terbutaline slowed the contractions down.  Bad news is, my cervix is really soft and getting shorter. From now until 34 weeks, I have to be on oral terbutaline every four hours (which should make sleeping even MORE fun). If I have contractions through the medication, I have to call them. I’m not on bed rest yet, but she said, “NOTHING EXTRA.” So basically, go to work, come home, do nothing else. Joy.

Now I wait on the results from the culture. If there’s a certain protein present, I’m guessing I’ll be put on bed rest. If the test is negative, that’s good news. She said that means I won’t have the baby in the next two weeks for sure. So we’re hoping for negative, obviously.

Anyway. That’s that. I’m freaked out. And I just had another contraction. I just want him to STAY PUT for awhile longer. 31 weeks is too soon!

5 thoughts on “Great.

Leave a Reply

