Some reassurance. Some frustration.

At about 2:00 this morning, I woke up with a nagging, crampy feeling in my lower back, along with intense pelvic pressure.  I thought maybe it was just the way I was laying, so I switched positions. And then switched positions again. Nothing worked. It ached, it throbbed, and the pressure in my pelvis? OW. Finally, about 9:30 this morning, I gave in and called the OB’s office. They wanted me to come in, of course, so off I went like a good little patient.

They hooked me up to the NST and Miles looked great. My suspicions about him dropping proved to be true, because they found his heartbeat right above my pelvic bone, when last week it was up above my belly button. I had maybe one mild contraction while on the monitor (of course — they’re going to think I’m crazy I’m sure) but my back was just burning the entire time.

The nurse came in and told me that I didn’t have a bladder infection, but that I had a ton of white blood cells in my urine, which indicates some sort of infection. They put me on an antibiotic, and I’ll find out what the infection is on Monday. We’re guessing UTI, but who knows. That could be causing the back pain.

Dr. came in (not my normal OB) and said she was going to do a fFN. I told her I’d had one last week, did I need to do it again since it was negative, and she said we didn’t have to do it, no, because a negative result is good for two weeks, but if we did do it, and it came back negative again (which was the most likely result) it would get me to 34 weeks, and at that point, they won’t stop labor. So I told her to go ahead and do it.  She also did a cervical check. Cervix is very soft and open on the outside, but still long, so that’s good.

I go back again next Friday, again not with my regular OB, but we’ll see what happens then. I don’t know if she’ll even check me again. I might ask her to, though.

The fFN did come back negative, which means there’s a less than 1% chance that I’ll go into labor in the next two weeks. This begs the question, why am I on bedrest?  I sat here pondering that thought, and in the meantime, I had 4 contractions. So, when I lay in bed like I’m supposed to, I have maybe 1 -2 contractions an hour. The minute I get up, they come back full force.

Guess that’s why.

4 thoughts on “Some reassurance. Some frustration.

  1. Great news about the fFN coming back negative! I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with all this though! At least you know that you’re getting closer and closer to full term! Hang in there 🙂

    • That’s what I”m afraid of — ha! As much as I want to be off bed rest, I really do think that laying low/not doing anything is what’s stopping the contractions from coming hard and fast. And if they come hard and fast, that means I’ll start dilating, and I’m not ready for that yet. So I’m just going to grin and bear it!

Leave a Reply

