Unexpected.

So remember when I said I felt like baby had dropped, because I had SO much pressure in my pelvis?

Yeah, well, the head I thought was lodged down there is actually feet. His head is now up by my ribs. At my last u/s two weeks ago, his head was way down by my hips. She showed me his feet, and they are right on top of my cervix, pressing away. That explains the pressure and the shooting pains, and the constant need to run to the bathroom, because he keeps kicking my bladder.

They’re estimating him at 4 lbs 11 oz right now, which she said is right on for my dates.

I had a few contractions on the monitor, nothing they were too concerned about. Still on bed rest, though not as strict. She said don’t ride a horse, don’t have sex, don’t run to Target, but don’t be in bed 24/7 either because that’s not good for me either. Basically, just try to keep my feet up as much as possible. So not back to work yet. We’ll reevaulate at my appointment next week (with my regular OB).

When I asked her what the chances of him flipping back to a head down position were, she didn’t seem too optimistic. She said once they get their feet burrowed into the pelvis (which is where they are) it becomes harder for them to turn. So it’s possible, but she doesn’t know for sure. She said that if we get to 36 weeks and he’s still head down, we’ll discuss doing an external cephalic version (which I”m told is not a pleasant experience). I asked her if that would work for sure, and she said, “Honestly? No. Our flip rate is between 25 and 35%, and of those, not all of them stay head down anyway.” So basically, if we hit 36 and he’s still butt down, we’ll schedule a c-section.

Yikes.

So anyway. That’s that.

3 thoughts on “Unexpected.

  1. I’ve read about a couple different ways to turn the baby in some of the (many) books I’ve been reading.
    “The most popular techique for turning a breech baby at home is the pelvic tilt exercise. The easiest way to do this is with an ironing board or a sturdy wood board or shelf. Take your board and lay it up against your couch or sofa. Make sure you go to the bathroom so your bladder is empty.
    Arrange yourself on the board so your head is down and your bottom is up. Do this three times a day for around 20 minutes. It’s a good time to listen to music or try some relaxation conditioning. Imagine that your baby is turning as you do this.
    You can also use a stack of pillows up under your bottom – just make sure you’ve got it up in the air at least 12 inches or so!”

    I don’t know if it will work but it might be worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

