Baby bliss

How I ever lived without this little guy is beyond me. I can’t even remember what life was like without him, and it’s only been 5 days!

On Monday after my appointment, I felt crappy. Lots of painful, irregular contractions, lots of cramps, and I was pretty much just exhausted. I managed to fall asleep around 10,  and then around 2 was woken up by contractions.  For about two hours, they were 4 -5 minutes apart. Then they slowed down a little bit, spaced out to 7 – 10 minutes apart. Frustrating! I fell asleep again, and then woke up around 7 and they were strong again, 3 minutes apart. I called my OB and she told me to head to L&D. Yay!

We arrived around 9 am and I was put in a temporary room so they could monitor my contractions.  I had quite a few nice, strong contractions, but my cervix hadn’t changed at all from the day before. The OB on call told the nurse to have me get up and walk around for awhile, so we did that for about 40 minutes. I had lots of contractions while walking, but once I got back to the room and hooked up to the monitor, they slowed down again. I was getting worried that they would send me home. The nurse came back in and said the OB said it was ok to break my water and get this show on the road. I was so relieved! Until the nurse couldn’t manage to break my water. She dug around in there, OW, but couldn’t manage to get it, which made her think that maybe I just wasn’t ready. I almost started crying. She told me to hang out for a few minutes while she tried to track down my OB, who told her to move me to a birthing room and start me on a very small dose of pitocin. YAY!

We moved to our room, and I started having a lot of intense contractions again. The nurse’s exam had stirred things up.  We got my IV started, and the pitocin drip, and the contractions started coming every 2 minutes or so. My OB came in and broke my water with no problem. At that point it was almost 12:30 and I was at a 5. Ready for my epidural!  Around ten to 2, I started feeling a lot of pressure, so the nurse checked me and I was at a 9 — just about ready to go! I started pushing at 2:02, and 9 minutes later, at 2:11, Miles made his debut.

I am so in love. He’s amazing. He’s nursing really well, he sleeps a 5-hour stretch during the night, and I have already cried at the thought of having to go back to work.

Pictures here:

4 thoughts on “Baby bliss

Leave a Reply

