All night?!

Miles is a really good eater. He’s a sleepy eater, but a good eater nonetheless. He will typically wake up every 2 – 3 hours to nurse during the day, and every 3 – 4 during the night. He tends to cluster feed before “bed time”, so between 6 and 9, and then he’ll usually sleep until about 1:30 or 2 and want to eat again. I don’t have to set an alarm to wake up to feed him or anything — he lets me know if he’s hungry.

Last night, he ate around 9:30. We fell asleep around 10, and when he woke up to eat again, I looked at the clock and it was..,5:30!!!!! My boobs were like rocks since they hadn’t been emptied all night! I fed him right away, then pumped the remaining milk and he took some of that too. Now he’s sleeping again like a growing baby should.

But of course, I’m feeling like an awful mommy for not waking him up in the night to eat. All the breastfeeding handouts from the hospital, and the few books I have, tell me that even at night, I should be waking him every 3  hours to eat (though 4 -5 hours at night is an ok stretch.) And he slept for 7 1/2 hours without getting up to eat!!! He’s having plenty of wet and poopy diapers, and I can tell that he’s gaining weight, so maybe I shouldn’t be so worried, but still! I can’t believe he slept all night! I know it’s probably just a one-time thing, and he’ll be back to his regular schedule again tonight, but again…ALL NIGHT! He’s only 2 weeks old!

3 thoughts on “All night?!

  1. That’s great. Since you can tell he is gaining and lots of wet/poopy diapers I would be thrilled. (but I might mention it to the pediatrician, just for reassurance.)

  2. Sweet! Go with it! I slept all the way through the night from the day I was born. It certainly didn’t hurt me and I certainly wouldn’t mind if this little guy/gal inside of me followed in my footsteps!

Leave a Reply

