Eight weeks already?

Has it really already been eight weeks (Tuesday) since my baby boy came into this world? How does the time go by so quickly? He has already changed so much since he was born. Some days I find myself just staring at him and being so incredibly grateful that he’s finally here, my little miracle.

I went back to work on Wednesday, January 5th. It was definitely an adjustment. The night before, I got all his bottles ready for the next day, packed the diaper bag, got my pump all ready to go so I could pump at work, and we nestled into bed. Little guy ate, then slept from 9 until 4. He must have known we both had a big day coming up! I did really well with the whole “going back to work” thing until Maddie kissed me good bye and I kissed Miles good bye. Then the tears started welling up and I had to get out of there before I broke down.   Then, a couple hours into my day, I felt my milk let down. A look at the clock told me it was about time for Miles to eat, and that brought the tears again. He does great with the bottle, and he hasn’t had any nipple confusion at all, but I hated that I wasn’t there to give him what he needed. The day went by pretty quickly, luckily, and I was able to rush home and kiss his little face off, and get a full report from Maddie on how the day had gone. Now we’re into a routine, so things are good.

Pumping at work is an odd thing. My supply is great right now, and I’m able to get away with pumping just twice during the day. (If my supply starts to suffer, I’ll up it to three, but for now, this is working out.) I’m usually able to pump enough for the next day’s bottles, and most days I have a couple ounces extra that I’ve been able to freeze. It’s funny — I’ve kind of become competitive about it. Competing with myself, I guess! I love to see which boob will produce more in a pumping session, and I”m always proud at the end of the day when I see how much milk I’m able to bring home for my little guy. He’s doing such a great job nursing, and it shows! He’s almost 12 pounds already, which is just amazing to me. Maddie wasn’t 12 pounds until she was at LEAST 6 months, if then. She didn’t hit 20 pounds until she was over 2 years old. She got her Daddy’s genes, and Miles got mine! He’s got fat little legs and chubby cheeks and I am just so in love with him.

Big sister is so proud!

 

3 thoughts on “Eight weeks already?

  1. I dread the day I have to go back to work! Sounds like you did great! He is getting so big! Hope Maddie has been adjusting!

  2. Aw what a cute picture! I’m glad you’re adjusting to working, I can’t even imagine how it’ll be for me when it’s time to go back to work after getting to know our little one.

  3. Wow, I can’t believe 8 weeks. That did fly by. Your blog was one of the first I found last year so it’s amazing you (me) are so far. I hope work is ok. The going back sucks! Take Care

Leave a Reply

